Emily Rae Robles

the paradoxymoron

Book Review: The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

It’s a special feeling when a book captures my attention to the point where I start to identify as the main character.  I’m not referring to identifying with the main character, a feeling that occurs quite often when I become engrossed in books.  I’m talking about full-on feeling that I am this character.  Mark Haddon accomplished this for me with his fantastic novel The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time.  By the end of the book, which features Christopher, a 15-year-old with Asperger’s, I found myself wincing at things both in the book and outside the book that were done “wrong.”  I didn’t quite get to the point where I was counting cars of the same color, which is what Christopher does to determine if he is going to have a good day, but the strong voice throughout definitely got to me by the end, in the most effective way possible.

The “curious incident” referred to in the title of the book is the murder of a dog belonging to Christopher’s neighbor, a crime that triggers a series of unforeseeable events that keep both Christopher and readers on their toes.  The ensuing adventures are exciting, humorous, and poignant all at once–a feat especially remarkable by the author since the character experiences almost none of these emotions.

This is going to be a short review, but The Curious Incident is a short book.  I highly recommend that you check it out purely to experience the magic Haddon creates through a character who would never believe in magic.  He truly captures the paradoxes of humanity.  This is a book well worth the read.

June 24, 2011 Posted by | book review | | 2 Comments