Emily Rae Robles

the paradoxymoron

Anxiety

I walk alone at night, with no one near
to calm my ever-rising agony,
to clasp my hand and whisper in my ear,
to softly take my dreams and set them free.
They say they understand, but no one knows
the panic that I feel when each breath comes,
the tightness in my chest that always grows
until I sink to earth, blind, deaf, and dumb.
I cry and cry, but tears remain unleashed.
I scream away the pain within my soul
afraid that it will stay and never cease,
unsatisfied until it takes its toll.
The monster in me scratches at my heart
and threatens, always, to tear me apart.

June 15, 2011 - Posted by | poetry, writings | , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Enjoyed this much 🙂

    Comment by J Sirrah | June 15, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks for reading! I’m glad you enjoyed it 🙂

      Comment by emilyrae | June 18, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

