Emily Rae Robles

the paradoxymoron

Grasping at Stars

why today?
why burn away
the dreams that lay as speckled pebbles in the distance of my heart?
a thousand suns are burning
a thousand fires spurning my love for love and life and you.
in the night, i burst forth from my soul,
break free of my whole self
and fly away from the world that drags me down.
take me, break me, forsake me
but you can not reach me where the stars cry tears of dust on my wounded shoulder.
my fingers cling to memories of a life filled with more than death
where youth opened my eyes to magnificence greater than truth.
the stars welcome me with open arms
but will they burn as well?

May 17, 2011 - Posted by | poetry, writings

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

