Emily Rae Robles

the paradoxymoron

Sisters

When the stork lay the baby down on our doorstep, I saw it pause and stare at it for a minute before it flew off over the Douglas firs.  I knew this was a good sign because it meant the stork didn’t want to leave the baby, which meant that it was probably the best baby in the whole world.  I was used to babies, because we had already had two others delivered to our doorstep, but they were both boys and I really wanted a sister.  This baby was kind of like a birthday present too, because my sixth birthday was in five days.  I crossed my fingers, snuck out the door before my parents could hear the whimpers coming from outside, and unwrapped the bundle.

It was a girl.  My heart leaped, and I almost clapped my hands with joy except that I realized just in time that my parents would hear.  I wanted a chance to bond with my new sister before anyone else.

Her eyes shot open.  They were the same color as mine, a dark blue-grey that was out of place in our brown-eyed family.  ”Hello,” she said. “You don’t look like a stork.”

“Hello,” I replied.  ”I’m not a stork.  I’m a sister.”

“Oh,” she said.  ”What does a sister do?”

“I think mainly I’m supposed to look like you and change your diapers,” I answered.  ”Also, I know things that you don’t know because I’ve been around longer.”

“Okay,” she said.  ”What sort of things do you know?”

“Well,” I said, “I don’t think you’re supposed to be able to talk yet.”

“Is that bad?” she asked.  ”I can stop.”

“No, it’s okay,” I said quickly.  ”You can talk to me because I’m your sister, but you should probably stop once Mommy and Daddy find you.  They’re grown-ups, and grown-ups do things a certain way.”

Suddenly the door opened behind us.  Mommy let out a cry of surprise.

“Oh look!” she squealed.  ”The baby came!”

I looked at my new sister and put a finger to my lips.  Then, just in case, I whispered to her, “This means be quiet.  You should probably not talk for a few months.  Take it slowly.”

She nodded covertly, covering up the action by waving her arms and wailing a little bit.

“Isn’t she adorable?” Mommy cooed.  ”Your new baby sister!”

I nodded and grinned at the bundle.  Being a sister was going to be fun.

 

February 5, 2011 - Posted by | stories, writings | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Love this story!

    Comment by cindy | March 20, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

