Emily Rae Robles

the paradoxymoron

Shreds of Doubt (Flash Fiction: Day 5)

Prompt: Shreds of doubt

“Am I a murderer?” she asked the sky.

“No,” comforted her mother, braiding her soft brown hair.

“No,” stated her father, pleading with his eyes.

“No,” reassured her psychiatrist, watching her anxious hands.

“Yes,” whispered the remaining one she had failed to destroy. “Yes, you are a murderer.  You have shattered your soul in your attempts to become whole again.  You have flogged your mind until it bleeds out secrets you meant to keep.  You have fed your insecurities with the flesh of your heart.  You meant to kill us, but you have only killed yourself.”

“Why do you come?” she cried, tears flowing out of an infinite spring.  ”What do you want from me?”

The thick sound of silence invaded her pores. Her head throbbed, pulsing to the rhythm of her fears.  She could feel them hiding, ready to pounce on the merest shred of doubt.

“No!” she shrieked, as suddenly as the wind. “No! I will not allow you to do this to me! I do not belong to you.  I belong to Love.  I belong to Mercy.  I belong to all that is good and all that can defeat you. You will be defeated!”

In the uproar of her mind, she flung the voice against her strengthened resolve.  It shattered to pieces, clearing her mind and freeing her soul.

“Yes,” she spoke clearly, “Yes, I am a murderer.  I have done away forever with my doubts.”

 

February 5, 2011 - Posted by | flash fiction, ramblings, writings | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

